Depot de Pain

Let’s get one thing clear… Pain in this context is not “ouch you hurt me” pain. Pain is the French word for bread. That’s right, bread. So now that we have this cleared up, it might be a little more obvious that I’m about to review a bakery and patisserie rather than a torture dungeon. And a great patisserie too!

The first time I visited Depot De Pain, the éclairs sitting in that pretty food display looked like they were asking me to rescue them. Which of course, I did, only to take a bite a minute later. I hadn’t had such amazing éclairs in Australia before, ever, so I decided I had to try more things.

My next victim was the millefeuille. As I was trying to cut the pastry, the crème patissière quickly tried to escape from the sides, just as it should. And then when I tasted it, the OHMYGOD factor hit me straight away. It was perfect. Their baked cheese cake? Not the usual texture you’d expect, instead it’s rather smooth and not too heavy, with an amazing caramelized top that makes it even more oh so delicious. You just have to try it!

I know I started with sweets, but sweets are the way to my heart. And cheese. Speaking of cheese, they have a range of delicious looking sandwiches and baguettes, but I got stuck on their Croque Monsieur after the first time I tried it. Once you get over the fact that the shiny bread looks like it’s been smothered with butter before it was toasted, you’ll bite into it and find it so tasty that you will want to whisper love declarations to it. The gruyère and smoked ham are quality, and so is the Dijon mustard, which makes its presence very clear without being overwhelming. But don’t fall in love too quickly, because once you try the salad served with the sandwich, you will start daydreaming about taking romantic trips to the beach with it. I don’t know what magical ingredients are in that vinaigrette dressing, but they will take you on a roller coaster as you feel happy while eating it then guilty because you’re cheating on the Croque Monsieur.

And then there’s the pastries. No French patisserie is complete without croissants that will melt in your mouth. Plain, chocolate, almond or ham and cheese, all the croissants are there. You’ll also find cheese sticks, danishes, escargots, you name it, they probably have it. And it’s all quality. You can also buy fresh bread and baguettes, their orange juice is truly freshly squeezed and their coffee really good. You’ll find delicious looking colourful cakes and a lot of pre-packed goodies to buy and take home such a cookies, macarons and chocolate. But best of all, you can buy snacks that you won’t find in many other places such as Carambar, a sort of caramel stick, which brought me back to my childhood as soon as I saw it.

Between the sweets and the savoury, Depot De Pain has quickly won me over, and I can’t wait for it to open in Brunswick. I just have one last piece of advice for you: Do NOT think about the calories you’re consuming when you go into that place. Just eat. And then exercise, but most importantly eat.

Depot de Pain contact info: There are currently 3 Depot de Pain locations, and one opening soon in Brunswick. Please note that the one I usually go to is on Rathdowne Street.

Depot de Pain Rathdowne:

Address: 693 Rathdowne Street, Carlton North
Phone: (03) 9349 1311
Hours: Mon – Sun: 7:00 am – 6:00 pm

Depot de Pain on Urbanspoon

Fleur Depot de Pain:

Address: 452 St Kilda Road, Melbourne (entry via Arthur Street)
Phone: (03) 9039 1122
Hours: Mon – Sun: 6:30 am – 5:00 pm

 

Depot de Pain Hawthorn:

Address: 616 Glenferrie Road, Hawthorn
Phone: (03) 8803 7898
Hours: Mon – Sun: 7:00 am – 6:00 pm

 

Leave a Reply

