Stax

It all started when one day, WannaChupBro said “I know this great place, we HAVE to have breakfast there!”. And so it was that I embarked on an adventure way too early in the morning, in a quiet street I didn’t even know existed, walking past cute tiny lights hidden in the footpath, and ended up in a cosy café called Stax.

As soon as I opened the door, I was welcomed by smiley faces, a feeling of warmth, and jazzy music lightly playing in the background. I can’t recall the number of times I’ve gone back since that day, and I think by now I’ve tried almost everything on the menu.

Though as usually happens, I tend to fall in love with a meal and order it over and over again. My favourite item on the Stax menu remains the haloumi breakfast, and that is despite the super saltiness of the cheese, or maybe because of it! The generous serve of deliciously grilled haloumi is served with a whole lot of goodness on the place: Turkish bread, fried eggs, wilted greens, and my second favourite item on that plate, the grilled tomatoes.

If you’re feeling deliriously hungry, I recommend the Veggie Breakfast. There is so much food on this plate you would not be able to breathe once you’re done! And if vegetarian food is not for you, these guys certainly know about good chorizo, so you might want to consider the chorizo with scrambled eggs breakfast option. As for your daily dose of caffeine in the morning, you’ll be pleased to know that Stax have nice and rich coffee, as reviews by CilantroCore. But if, like me, your love story with coffee stops at the delicious smell of it, there are many great juice options available.

And be warned, when you finally make it to the counter to place your order, you will most likely be drawn to delicious looking, yummy smelling, freshly baked and strategically placed in front of you muffins. You will also most likely want to buy at least two, one for yourself and one for your colleague! I have fallen many times for that trap, and I can assure you that these muffins are as delicious as they look.

If walls at Stax could speak, they would tell you many stories of our joy, tears, excitement and frustration. Almost every important conversation in the past 2 years we have had was while sitting at the exact same spot having the haloumi breakfast. It has become that one place we run to early before work whenever something important needs to be discussed, happy or sad, and that’s as homely as it gets for me.

Stax contact info:
Address: 16 Little Latrobe St, Melbourne, Australia 3000
Phone: (03) 9663 3008
Hours: Mon – Thurs: 7:30 am – 4:00 pm; Fri: 7:30 am – 3:00 pm
Facebook: Café Stax

Stax on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Stax

Leave a Reply

